|St. Juliaan Memorial (1921), a
Canadian memorial to the first
gas attack by the Germans in
|Tyne Cot cemetery has 3 German
Bunkers inside its walls. This bunker
and one other are essentially
unchanged from 1918.
|The wall around the cemetery. At regular
intervals the pillars mark the entrance to a
small square chamber where the names
of those whose bodies were not found..
|The central monument of the
cemetery and a former bunker.
Designed by King George of
|Hooge Crater named as the shelling
created craters here and eventually a
lake. The church was turned into a
museum of Battlefield items.
|A German bunker upon which a
British pillbox was built after
1917 when Hill 60 changed
|The landscape of Hill 60. After the
war the decision was made not to
farm Hill 60 and leave it undisturbed.
|German mustard gas cannister.
Early in the war the Germans did
not put gas in shells, they places
it in these large spheres.
|Tyne Cot Cemetery, the largest British
Commonwealth cemetery in the world.
|Questions or comments? Contact the Webmaster at email@example.com. All Images and text copyright Deranged Designs 2005 - 2008 except where noted.
|Home - 2001 Great Britain - 2002 England & Wales - 2003 Spain - 2004 Belgium - 2005 Italy - 2005 London - 2006 France - 2007 Scandinavia - 2008 Greece
|The stone battlements about
Ypres and the moat
|Looking through Menin Gate
WWI Memorial toward Ypres.
|Section of Menin Gate covered
with the names of the Canadian
War dead at Ypres whose bodies
were never found.
|The town of Ypres as seen from the
outside of Menin Gate. The Belfry
and Cloth Hall are visable.
|The Grand Market of Ypres. The
Cloth Hall is visible to the left.
The building on the end of the
Cloth Hall is the Stadhuis.
|The Lakenhalle (Cloth Hall) and its
Belfry. The locals used to toss live
cats off the Belfry as they personified
evil spirits. This tradition began in the
12th Century and continued until
1817. In 1930 the practice was
revived as an annual event - but with
stuffed toy cats.
|Concrete dug-outs set in the canal
bank at Essex Farm. These dug-outs
were built for a front-line dressing
station. It was here that Canadian Lt.
Col. John McCrae worked on wounded
soldiers and wrote "In Flanders Fields".
|Wijtschate trenches (White
Sheet) that have been restored.
The man in the foreground is our