Questions or comments?  Contact the Webmaster at admin@losttraveller.com.
All Images and text copyright Deranged Designs 2005 - 2013 except where noted.
Members of the Bruco contrade
parade through their
neighbourhood. One of the
contrade that participate in the
Palio di Siena.
One of the pedestrian streets of
Siena. The banners for the
B
ruco contrade are out for the
August 4th running of the Palio
di Siena.
Piazza Tolomei and the Church
of St. Christopher. The column
of the Sienese wolf dates from
1610. One legend has Siena
founded by Senius son of Remus.
A short ramp down into the
Piazza del Campo.
The Town Hall and Bell Tower
in the Piazza
del Campo.
Buildings lining the Piazza del
Campo At one time there were
towers but city statutes requiring
unified roof lines changed that.
The courtyard of the Palazzo
Pubblico. The town hall was
begun in 1297.
.
Banners of the Contrade
hanging from the Town Hall
.
There are 17 contrade but only
10 are allowed to participate in
the Palio each year.
The Palazzo Pubblico and the
bell tower or Torre del Mangia.
The tower was built between
1325 and 1344 and at 289 feet
was designed to be higher than
the one in rival Florence.
The climb up the Torre del
Mangia. The name means Tower
of the Eater Ithe first guardian of
the tower enjoyed his food).
Looking south down Via
Porrione. Siena is a small town
in the middle of rural Tuscany.
Looking down at the Piazza del
Campo. It began as an open air
market in the vale between three
villages.
Looking North East toward the
remains of the town walls.
The Cathedral, a largely Gothic structure begun in 1196. The structure
nearest the camera is a new nave begun in 1339 and abandoned due to
the plague. The plan was for the current nave to become a transept.


On the right is a closer view.
The church of Santa Maria di
Provenzano
Built 1595-1604 it
shows up dramatically from the
tower
.
Time to take the stairwell down
the tower
.
The Fonte Gaia (Joy) in the
square. Built in  1419 at the end
of water conduits bringing water
to the Piazza del Campo.
Another small piazza with a
column and a she-wolf,
Romulus and Remus atop it.
The Cathedral of Siena. The
exterior is black and white
marble. These are the colours of
Siena's Coat of Arms.
The ticket office to the
Cathedral and Museum has
faded fresco's on the walls.
The partially completed New
Cathedral attached to the main
cathedral.  It was abandoned
after an outbreak of the plague.
The striking black and white
marble interior of the Cathedral.
The nave of the Cathedral of
Siena.
The hexagonal dome of the
Cathedral.
The altar and a stained glass
window.
The cathedral floor has some
amazing mosaics in marble
.
This one is
Slaughter of the
Innocents
(1481).
The entire floor of the Cathedral
is covered in marble mosaics
depicting scenes from the Old
Testament. They are covered
most of the year.
The pulpit (1265) made of
Carrara marble and sculpted by
Nicola Pisano.
The Piccolomini Library
attached to the cathedral. It
houses the collection of Pope
Pius II (1458-1464).
He was born
and raised in Siena.
The ceiling of the Piccolomini
Library is painted with purely
decorative patterns.
The Piccolomini showing the
paintings on the walls show
scenes from Enea Silvio
Piccolomini's life (Pius II). The
statue of the Three Graces is a
copy of a Greek original.
Near the Cathedral is The
Baptistry of St. John (1316).
The hexagonal base of the
baptismal font
has bronze
panels
sculpted by five of the
main sculptors of the time
including Donatello.
The west facade of the
Cathedral of Siena. It has three
portals with the central one
capped by a bronze sun.
A covered walkway
crosses over a pedestrian
street in Siena.